Is HGTV considered reality TV?

Is HGTV considered reality TV?

I admit that I have a slight obsession with HGTV. Love it or List it, Love it or List it Too, Property Brothers, House Hunters International, Rehab Addict, Beachfront Bargain Hunt, Fixer Upper— you name it, I love it.

I’d like to think that these home improvement shows are not as brain-melting as some Bravo and MTV shows, but who knows… I guess it’s the crafter in me that loves seeing an old property get a glamorous make-over and a second life. I feel like these shows help my creative juices flow, rather than frying some brain cells: I like this style, not sure about that tile with those fixtures, etc. I know I sound like a dweeb, but I seriously love it! If a job in the advertising world doesn’t pan out, it would be incredible to be an interior designer.

It’s really neat seeing designers cater to a show participant’s style. Sometimes it’s a style they didn’t even know they had until they saw the finished product! It would be so fun to be a designer like Hilary on Love it or List it. I normally have a pretty good gut instinct when I meet new people, so I feel like it would be a cool challenge to combine that with my design eye.

I must admit that I don’t know the first thing about interior design, but I do have a Pinterest board that says otherwise haha. My mom even asks for my opinion on paint colors, tile, fabric swatches, light fixtures, etc. whenever we start a new remodeling project on our home. It’s easy for me to imagine all of those elements cohesively in a room, while my mom always says she knows what she likes once she sees it.

Although, she did just remodel my parent’s master bathroom and it looks incredible!!

glass shower detail

Shower Corner

vanities with custom cabinets

Dual vanities with custom cabinets for extra storage

hidden toilet

It was crucial that the toilet was at least a little hidden…

basket weave floor

Basket weave floor detail

Picture wall

Picture wall with mother of pearl accent and pencil detail

All of the decisions definitely took some time, but it really paid off. The pictures have a few lighting inconsistencies, but in person, the bathroom is a relaxing oasis of beige (just the way she likes it πŸ˜‰ )

My dad is also very handy, and did a lot of the dirty work — reframing the walls and molding, installing the cabinets, etc. etc. It was a neat family project that turned out amazing. Great job mom & dad!

I’m a long ways away, but I can’t wait to get started on making my first home an expression of my own design taste. So at least for me, HGTV is more educational than “trash TV”. It stimulates my creative juices and usually inspires my next craft πŸ™‚ Until then…

xo

d dot

Leave a Reply

